AOW Study Needs Young Survivors

Back in August I ran a post on Army of Women Wednesday (since expanded to Cancer Warriors Wednesday) about a study calling for 5,000 young breast cancer survivors. As I just read a Facebook post by the AOW stating that the study is still open, I am running my post again. I especially hope to generate interest because the study is open to anyone living in the United States or Canada who qualifies: 

 

Calling all young breast cancer survivors!  It’s Army of Women Wednesday and time to tell you about a study which needs 5,000 of you very special survivors. I’ve met so many impressive young survivors during my cancer journey – both personally and via social media. Your activism and passion are truly inspirational. I hope you will consider joining this study as just one more way you can continue the fight to eradicate breast cancer in our lifetime.

Project Title Breast Cancer Risk in Young Women Study

Researcher Paul Goodfellow, PhD

Study Summary The purpose of the study is to learn what genetic factors may play a role in the development of breast cancer in young women.

The researchers need to recruit 5,000 women who were diagnosed with invasive breast cancer when they were 40 years old or younger for this study.

Who Can Participate? You can join the Breast Cancer Risk in Young Women Study if you match ALL of these MAIN categories:

• You were diagnosed with invasive breast cancer (stage I, II, III, or IV) when you were 40 years old or younger (You are eligible regardless of how old you are now.) There are no exclusions based on current stage of treatment, previous or current diagnosis or prior genetic testing.

• You live in the United States or Canada

What Does Participation Involve? If you choose to join the Breast Cancer Risk in Young Women Study, you will be asked to submit a blood sample, which can be drawn at your next doctor’s appointment. Your doctor will ship the sample directly to the researchers. You will be sent a kit that includes shipping materials, the materials needed to draw your blood, and all of the documentation your doctor needs to draw and ship your blood to the research staff. There will be no cost to you to participate in this study, and you will not have to handle or ship your own blood.

You will be asked to provide the researchers with information about your family history. You will also be asked to give them permission to obtain a copy of your cancer-related medical records.

Where? United States and Canada

You can easily join the Army of Women, if you haven’t already done so, by visiting its website.  If you are already a member, you can go right to the study page to sign up. This is another study which doesn’t require you to live in a very limited area – so it’s a real opportunity for many of us to get involved.  Well, not “us” because I don’t qualify, but I’m right behind you and waiting for my opportunity!  Thanks so much for taking the time to consider this important contribution to moving from the “cure” to “eradication” of breast cancer. I’d love to hear what you think of the study and would be so excited to know that you signed up!

Survival > Existence,

Debbie

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

Comments

Ginny Marie's picture

I signed up!

I was so excited to be able to participate in this study, and so was my family. 🙂 You can read more about my experience here: http://www.lemondroppie.com/2011/10/i-joined-army-of-women-now-what/

It was so easy…much easier than I thought it would be!

Debbie's picture

The Joy of Being Part of Something Bigger Than Yourself

Ginny:

Your involvement in this study is a beautiful thing! And how wonderful that it brought you such joy to be part of something bigger than yourself. I’ve haven’t qualified for a study yet, but I’m looking forward to doing my part and experiencing the joy of giving back that you felt. Bravo!

Survival > Existence,

Debbie

Lisa's picture

How can I participate?

I keep seeing info about this study on fb. When I clicked to sign up for it, I received a message back saying that I had already signed up. I don’t recall receiving any information about the study. I just emailed AOW asking if it’s still an ongoing study. How can I participate if I’ve already signed up for it??

Debbie's picture

Thank You So Much for Your Interest in This Study

Lisa:

I’m so happy that you are willing to participate in this AOW study! If you registered as a volunteer with the AOW and then clicked the “Yes, Sign Me Up” call to action button for this specific study, you should be contacted by AOW to discuss your qualifications.   If you already went through this procedure and have yet to be contacted, I would do what you did and send them an email. As far as I know, this study is still open. I hope you are able to participate and thank you again for contributing in such a wonderful way to the fight to end breast cancer in our life time.

If this study doesn’t work out, please don’t be discouraged. As a volunteer of AOW, you will continue to receive notice of other studies. Eventually, you will find one that is right for you!

Survival > Existence,

Debbie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.